Heart-Shaped Cookies


Heart-Shaped Cookies and Other Stories, David Rice’s new collection, consists of seven short stories from his first book (Give the Pig a Chance, Bilingual Press), three stories reprinted from various anthologies, nine flash fiction pieces, and a play by Mike D. García based on Rice’s short story “She Flies.” Rice skillfully balances humor and sensitivity in his writing, and his imaginative tales and colorful characters appeal to young readers on many levels. Culture and place figure prominently in these narratives; most are set in the lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas and explore issues encountered in contemporary Mexican American life near the border. The author’s distinctive wit and style are apparent throughout the collection and are sure to secure his place in Chicano literature.

To order this title, phone toll free (866) 965-3867 or email brp@asu.edu.

This title is available as an ebook from Amazon, Apple iTunes Store, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo.

David Rice
Author Bio: 

David Rice was born in Weslaco, Texas, in 1964 and lived in Edcouch, Texas, for much of his youth. He later moved to Austin, where he now resides. His bicultural heritage stems from his father’s adoption by an Anglo family. Rice is a graduate of Southwest Texas State University in San Marcos. His second book, Crazy Loco, was published in 2001, and his stories have also appeared in numerous anthologies. Recent projects include work on his first novel and screenwriting for two films scheduled for release in 2011. Both movies, one a family film entitled Los Scavengers and the other a romantic comedy entitled Gone Hollywood, were filmed in the Edcouch-Elsa area.

Paper format available
Paper Price: 
ISBN #: 
Cloth format not available
Ebook available